Jesus and the gay Piano Bar

October 29, 2009 at 7:23 AM | Posted in weight loss | Leave a comment

It was a long rectangle with a low hanging ceiling. Tears were quietly sliding down cheeks, folks were dancing and occasionally jumping from their seats and even I heard “amen” slip loose from my lips. The setting was new to me, the topic was not, I held hands with warm strangers and sang along with the piano and drummer (who was hot!)

The freaky part is that last night I went to The Other Side , a piano bar with Gilmore. Last June I went to church with A’net. The experiences were-at moments- interchangeable.

(Of course I know this is going to make A’net pray for my soul… And that’s fine with me, I like it!)

Her church is in a building that previously knew itself as a bar. That explains why the room was identical. For a moment I thought my life was low budget and the sets were being recycled, but I’m not supposed to notice.

I had a great time, both times (although I am super glad that I got to sit down last night because a’net made me stand up for 2 hours of singing and, frankly, I am a sit down Methodist!. Both experiences were new to me. Before this summer: I had never been to a Holy Roller church where worshipers lay down and actually rocked and rolled as the spirit moved them. Equally so, I have been absent from bars of all kinds-particularly gay bars. Both sites have inspired lots of shopping (apparently Ross is an extension of A’net’s church?!? It’s true- ask her if she can pass one with out going in!)The lad who was Judy Garland had to buy his spangles somewhere (over the rainbow?).

Okay, I’m done comparing and here at 7/11 for my coffee!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.